Ramblings of a Redhead

Motherhood, Ministry, Marriage, and Messes along the way

Eleven Eleven Eleven

on November 13, 2011

So, yesterday was the amazing 11/11/11. It was also Veteran’s day, and my friend Elyse’s birthday (happy birthday Elyse!). Everyone was talking about this date all day long; I’ll admit, it is pretty cool, but not worth THAT much hype. In honor of that day, though, I create this post.

11 little things for which I am thankful. (Because it is the month of Thanksgiving, and because of 11/11/11)

Why little things? Well, because I think we often get caught up in the big picture things to take time and appreciate the small things in life. So, here it goes:

1. Sleep. Okay, maybe not really a little thing. I’ve never felt so zombie-like as I have the past few months with a newborn, wow! How do people have lots and lots of kids? Have the Duggars slept at all in 20 years? Are they even human? Since Turner has started to sleep better, I have praised God each night for marvelous sleep!

2. Chapstick. Something I’m not really thankful for until my lips are burning because of the change in the weather.

3. The modern dishwasher. Why? Because we do not have one. Whenever we purchase a home, this is a must. I wish I could literally kiss the inventor of such a machine, and beg him to install one in our apartment.

4. The baby monitor. How were people sane before such a thing? Ours is voice activated, so cool!

5. Cheeze-Its. They are absolutely delicious. My college roomate, Karla, got me hooked on them. I’ve consumed so many unnecessary calories because of my addiction. I’m not sorry.

6. The white board. Much less messy than the chalkboard, and so handy. My boss is a huge fan too, there’s one hanging in my office. He comes in and writes my to-do’s on the board, so I have a visible list of what needs to get done. It helps that he color codes and has super neat handwriting. We also use one as a calendar in our home.

7. Sweet Tea. Yum Yum Yum! I would be totally fine with never drinking a soft drink again, if only I had sweet tea. It’s perfectly southern and delicious. It’s also my nickname for Turner, he’s my little sweet T.

8. Toilet Paper. I mean, hello.

9. Books. I love to read, love love love to read. I don’t have time to do this nearly as much as I want to, but when I can it’s marvelous.

10. Cough drops. I’ve been sick this week, and you don’t think about those little things being great until you’re sick.

11. Fuzzy socks. Comfortable, warm, and cozy. One of the things I love about this time of year.

So those are some of the little things that I’m thankful for.

As far as the big things go…

I’m so so so thankful for my relationship with Jesus, for His sovereignty and His grace. For my husband, his love and care. For my little boy, and the joy he brings to my life. For my friends & family, their support, and assistance.

I’m truly blessed, and there’s much more that I could list, but I’ll end it there at least for now.

 

Leave a Reply

