Ramblings of a Redhead

Motherhood, Ministry, Marriage, and Messes along the way

A little rant & some thanksgiving food

on November 14, 2011

This has been a very stressful few months for the two of us. For starters, learning to cope with a baby has been a huge challenge. It’s getting better, but at first we were sleep deprived zombies that were lucky to even be able to brush our teeth in the day. I’m still learning how to juggle everything, and some days are more productive than others, but it is getting better.

Right now Jared is in school, working, and counseling. After all of that, at the end of the day, there’s not much time left. I’m not angry with him for it, he’s doing all of this because God’s called him and to better our family. I would much rather get the school done NOW than later. After this though, he’s got PhD, so we’ll be in this place for quite some time.

I don’t want this post to turn into a huge rant, but comments that people make about our situation have really started to irk me. They seem to think that because Jared is a student, we’re in some alternate reality that is not the “real world.” Last time I checked, we pay our bills, work jobs, and raise our son. What part of that does not constitute “real world.” No, we’re not homeowners, and yes we live on a seminary campus, but hello – we’re still paying rent. I long for the day when my husband comes home, and get to spend time with him. When he doesn’t have a paper to write, or a project to work on.

All in due time…

Right now, I’m just trying to bathe him in prayer because he’s pretty much working three jobs, plus trying to be a good husband and father.

Please don’t misunderstand this to mean I’m unhappy or resentful of our present situation, it’s just difficult and I’m ready to have some stability.

But anyhoo…

Would you care to take a gander at our Thanksgiving menu?

I thought so:

Turkey – a whole one, cooked in our oven. we’ll see how this goes.

Dressing

Cranberry Sauce – unnecessary if you ask me, but it’s a must for J

Green Beans – possibly my favorite food

Mac & Cheese

Sweet Potatos

Rolls

White Chocolate Bread Pudding

Is your mouth watering yet? I’m so excited, and for several reasons. The in-laws are coming! Not just J’s parents, but his sister, bro-in-law & our nephews too! I’m pumped to see everyone, and spend time together. Jared should have a lull in his school work by this time, meaning I might get him to myself for a little while – well to ourselves, me and the fam. Some good friends are also joining us, and all of us crammed into our little apartment makes for a fabulous time.

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite times of year, and I am thrilled that it’s on the way.

What’s on your turkey-day menu?

I will conclude this post with a beautiful image, this is how everyday should end.

T asleep on my lap - utter bliss.

2 responses to “A little rant & some thanksgiving food

  1. Tiffany says:

    LOVE this post! Happy to know I’m not the only one that feels that way (about your little “rant” which is not what I would call it lol) and the Thanksgiving menu sounds good! Thank you for inviting us to come, we are very excited!

  2. We’re so glad to have you join us, I can’t wait : )

Leave a Reply

