Ramblings of a Redhead

Motherhood, Ministry, Marriage, and Messes along the way

A Tribute to Brothers and a Little Bit of New Orleans

on November 16, 2011

Since having a baby, I’ve given a lot of thought to when I want to have another one and how many etc. etc.

(p.s. by the way) The answer to that is not for awhile, and not sure.

Anyway, this has spurred me to think of siblings, and my relationship with my brothers. I have two real ones, and one fake one (I’ll explain). This post is all about them; I present *duh duh duh* my brothers.

Clint:

He is my middle brother, being four years younger than me. We get along very well, and I’m pretty sure we always have. I mean, sure, we’ve had arguments and gotten on each other’s nerves at times, but for the most part we’re pretty close. There was a period of time when he probably didn’t like me very much – I was around ten, and he six. I would repeatedly promise to play spiderman with him if he would play whatever girly game I chose, only after he played my game, I’d never follow through with the whole spiderman thing. Sorry, Clint. But, we’re past those times and I’m very thankful for him.

He’s an extremely talented musician, he’s smart, an avid reader, and he makes me laugh a lot. He’s a good six inches taller than me now, but he’s a great “little” brother.

Noah:

Noah is my baby brother, and though he detests the term “baby” I’ve explained to him that even when he’s 100 years old, he’ll still be my baby brother. I think he’s mostly accepted that now. He calls me Ninnie because when he was first learning how to talk, he’d try to say my name and it just came out “Ninnie.” It’s stuck since then, sometimes he tries to be grown up and call me Lindsay, but he knows I hate it. Our relationship is different because I’m so much older than him, but I’m proud of the guy he’s turning into. He’s kind, with a big heart, and he has an excellent vocabulary. He likes to tease me, and make me laugh.

Nathan:

Nathan is my fake brother – he’s a really good friend from college, but we’ve claimed each other as brother and sister. He is actually younger than me, but has always looked out for me like a big brother, and for that I’m grateful. I’m so proud of him, he’s currently serving in Madagascar as a missionary. I admire his courage, and willingness to follow the Lord. He’s smart, and witty. He makes me laugh a lot, and I cherish our inside jokes.

There’s not really a particular reason why I chose to write about them, other than I’m grateful to have them and love each one of them. I’m blessed to have brothers.

Now, the other part of my blog – oh, New Orleans! Can I just say this place is certainly not like North Carolina. There’s things I love about the Crescent City, and there’s things I hate. These are some of my recent grocery store observations –

1. People are absolutely oblivious to others while shopping. I was in the grocery store today, trying to get down an aisle. I had a shopping cart, Turner in tow and was just trying to get to the mayo that was on sale. Two ladies stood side by side blocking the entire aisle, I pushed my cart forward until I was literally standing three feet in front of them, and it was obvious I needed to get by. I stood there for a moment just staring at them; it became clear that they were not going to step aside. Eventually I said a polite “excuse me” and one of the ladies exclaims “oh!” like I hadn’t been standing THREE FEET in front of her the whole time. It blows my mind, and annoys me to death. It’s not that people are rude, just completely oblivious.

2. Nobody cares that you’ve got a screaming baby and need to complete your transaction and get out of the store. So what if you’ve only got a loaf of bread and tube of toothpaste? The guy with two carts full is not going to let you in front of him.

3. It doesn’t matter if you want to park in the empty space beside the silver Camry. She’s still going to leave her cart in it so you can’t pull in.

Anyway, that’s what’s on my mind today.

3 responses to “A Tribute to Brothers and a Little Bit of New Orleans

  1. ntbaker633 says:

    K-K-K-Katy! I’m so glad you’re my sister. I’ve also realized it is absolutely criminal that I don’t get to see you all for 2 years! So expect a visit in roughly 24 months.

  2. Can’t wait to see you in 24 months, I’m counting down.

    P.S. I’d like a lemur for Christmas

  3. […] P.S. if you’re interested in my brothers, I talk about them here. […]

Leave a Reply

