Ramblings of a Redhead

Motherhood, Ministry, Marriage, and Messes along the way

2012

on January 17, 2012

Wow! It has been too long since I’ve posted anything. The holidays were crazy – crazy fun, but crazy nonetheless. We had a wonderful Christmas in North Carolina with friends & family; it was hard to come back to New Orleans. Once FINALLY arrived, we were great with being back, but our hearts are in the Tarheel state.

What we’ve been up to & our goals for 2012…

Turner’s Adventures

Turner has been growing like a weed. We started some big boy food around Christmas, and he loves to chow down! So far he likes bananas, apples, pears, sweet potatoes, carrots, and squash. Much to my disappointment, he does NOT like green beans – I mean screaming, crying, gagging and spitting. This broke my heart a little bit (okay, a lot) because green beans are my FAVORITE veggie. I’m not giving up though, we’ll try them again later.

Image

Carrots are yummy!

We had to break sweet T of the swaddle blanket after I discovered him on his face during nap time. It’s been three nights so far. The first night was terrible; he literally woke up whining and crying every hour & a half (he had been sleeping straight through the night consistently). I felt so bad for the little guy; I mean I took his literal security blanket away. But, the last two nights have not been so bad he’s only gotten up once each time to nurse & go back to sleep. I’ll take it.

Image

No more bundled little inch worm *sigh*

He is rolling over both ways now. He gets lazy with it and cries for help even though he can do it himself. Bless his heart.

All in all he is a very happy baby & such a joy to my life. He loves playing with toys, baby Einstein, chewing on things, and snuggling with Mama. My favorite days of the week are Tuesday, Thursday & Saturday because I don’t have to work and I get to love on him all day!

Image

Man I love this boy!

Jared’s Craziness

This is his last semester in the Master’s program – Lord willing he will complete his Master of Arts in Marriage & Family Counseling in May (fingers crossed) it may be July if he can’t quite squeeze in all of his counseling hours. If that’s the case, c’est la vie, it’ll be okay.

He is in the process of completing his PhD application. Yikes! We have many years of school ahead of us, but it’ll be worth it when I get to kiss Dr. Thomas…wowzers! Really, he needs the PhD to be able to do what he wants to do, and I totally support him in this adventure. This long long adventure. And hey, I’m hoping it’ll mean great things for me and Turner too – I’m thinking staying home full time and some brothers & sisters for T, or maybe brother or sister (singular). We’ll see.

And for me

I’m going to write a book one day, not tomorrow, but one day. I’ve been reading a lot (one of my favorite things to do). I have a specific goal of how many books I want to complete in 2012, but I’m keeping the number to myself in case I fail.

Image

I’ve also been trying to be a better wife & mommy. Cooking, cleaning, laundry etc. Surprisingly, I’ve come to love these tasks. And pinterest has become my new recipe addiction. We’ve had some yummy stuff, and one disgusting butternut squash soup failure.

I’m also trying to eat better and exercise more to get this baby weight. I pretty much only gained weight in my belly area & that’s turned out to be both a blessing and a curse. It was totally worth it though.

Some exciting things are happening at my job – our church. We’re doing a dinner theatre in March that I’m WAY excited about, more on that later.

So really, it’s all good things folks! 2012 here comes the Thomas family!

Leave a Reply

