Ramblings of a Redhead

Motherhood, Ministry, Marriage, and Messes along the way

Whole Milk

on June 10, 2012

**WARNING** This posts contains subject matter that may be disturbing to some readers, namely breastfeeding and all that comes along with it. Dad, feel free to return to ESPN.com.

We started the gradual process of weaning today. We gave Turner his first little sippy cup of whole milk, and he LOVED it. He drank the whole thing, like that’s all he’s had every day of his life. Success! I was nervous that this would be a painful process. We’re not out of the woods yet, but knowing that he actually likes milk made me feel better. Hopefully, the next two months will go smoothly.

Now, let’s rewind almost 10 months.

I always knew I wanted to nurse my kids if possible, and though I didn’t think it’d be easy, I didn’t know how painfully difficult it would be. And this is why…

Lies the Nursing Nazis tell you in the hospital when you’re weepy and vulnerable.

Lie #1 It shouldn’t hurt… at all. That is a pile of poo. Newsflash – those are sensitive parts, and umm they’ve got to get used to experiencing such demanding service. They’re going to be so sore it hurts to move, that’s a fact.

Lie #2 You must hold your child this certain way, at this particular angle. Yeah, maybe if I had six arms I could get a screaming baby into that position and still navigate everything else into place.

Lie #3 If your kid is crying after a nursing session, he must’ve not gotten enough and you’re starving him to death. Do I need to explain this? There’s about 1001 reasons why a baby might be crying, and if you’re feeding him on demand and he’s getting good “pulls” in, and you’re hearing him swallow, chances are he just might be a little cranky, or have a dirty diaper, or want to be held, or have gas…etc.

Lie #4 Don’t you dare use a pacifier, that’s the most dangerous confusing thing you can do. Turner loves his paci, and has never experienced “nipple confusion.”

Lie #5 You have no idea what you’re talking about, you couldn’t have been engorged and be in excruciating pain. Well, guess what? My mom, an RN was here to witness the whole thing and she begs to differ so TAKE THAT you mean mean lady!

Okay, so some of that was slight exaggeration; needless to say, I didn’t have the best experience with my lactation consultant in the hospital.

I almost gave up it was so difficult. Boys are hungry little fellas and those first endless weeks, Turner was screaming to be fed every two hours or less. I felt like I was just a giant boob, all I did was nurse. And it hurt, and was exhausting, and depleting. I needed help, and more people than I cared became privy to the “free show” in efforts to assist. Then, when I went to work (part-time) when Turner was 5 weeks old, I had to pump and boy howdy talk about uncomfortable.

Jared came home from work one day to find me sobbing in our bedroom about how miserable I was, and that I wanted to throw in the towel.

But, he encouraged me to stick with it, so I did. And, it has turned into a beautiful experience. I’m so glad that I didn’t give up because I know I’ve given Turner the absolute best nutrition, and it has allowed me to bond with him in an indescribable way. While I can’t say I’m sad about giving up the pump, and not having to find privacy if we’re out in public, I am a little misty about it all being over.

My baby is growing up too quickly.

Leave a Reply

