Ramblings of a Redhead

Motherhood, Ministry, Marriage, and Messes along the way

One Year

on August 25, 2012

As of Saturday at 7:56pm Turner is officially one year old.

I can’t believe it’s been a whole year, I can’t believe how fast it’s gone by.

A year ago I was ginormously huge, waddling around extremely uncomfortable. I started having contractions on a Wednesday afternoon, and by 9pm was headed to the hospital. Let me tell you – those things are NO JOKE! I don’t think I’d ever experienced such intense pain. When I got to there, there were no beds available so I had to to stay in triage…for six hours. SIX. That’s 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. That may not sound like a big deal, but it is. Trust me. Oh, and no drugs whatsoever until around five hours when they gave me something to “take the edge off.” Yeah, right.

Finally, I was admitted to a room and received a glorious epidural. Let me just say, I went into the whole thing without deciding whether or not I wanted one. But, after a couple hours, I knew. Oh, boy did I know. I was finally able to get some rest. The doctor predicted we would have a baby by around 1pm the next day. 1pm came and went, and so did 2, 3, 4, and 5. I wasn’t progressing very much at all. Dr. Moore told me we would have to start looking at the possibility of a c-section. This news DEVASTATED me. I did NOT want that. I broke down, and began to cry. She worked with me, and tried everything possible to kick start my labor. The fact was, I was having regular contractions but I wasn’t dilating anymore. I had to gotten to 8cm and stayed that was for hours and hours. Finally, she told me I would have to have the c-section. By that time, I was so utterly exhausted that I just wanted it all to be over.

The surgery was a pretty scary experience for me because I’d never had any type of operation at all. The medicine made me shake, and I felt like I couldn’t breathe because of the way I had to lie on the table. But, when I heard that cry I knew it was all worth it.

Jared brought our boy over to me so I could see him, and he was SO beautiful, and SO big. 8lbs, 11oz to be exact. The pediatricians at the hospital kept saying things like “He’s a big boy!…why?” Umm…I don’t know, seems like you’re the one with the M.D. Anyway, they measured his 14in head and said something to the effect of “Good thing you had the c-section, because that never would’ve happened!”

And now, a year has gone by. Turner went on ahead and turned a year old without even asking me how I felt about it. It’s so bittersweet to see your child grow up because it truly happens too fast. I’m blessed to watch it race by, though. And my oh my do I love that blue eyed boy.

I love this pic of him pointing at the cupcake like “I’ll take that, please!”

Some stats:

At one year you are 20lbs 1oz and 30 3/4 inches tall. You’re in the 85% for height and the 20% for weight. You’re tall and skinny! The doctor says that’s perfectly fine, and you’re very healthy.

You eat ALL.THE.TIME. some of your favorite foods are spaghetti, ham, pears, black beans, bananas, green beans, yogurt, & chick-fil-a nuggets. Really, you mostly eat everything, and I’m so thankful for that! I hope you stay a good eater for life.

You’re walking more and more. You take 8-10 steps at a time, but now you try to carry everything around with you and this makes you lose your balance. You also think you can drink out of your cup and walk at the same time, not so much.

You love your blankie, pacie, and music at bedtime.

You love blocks, cars, musical instruments, and balls to play with.

You only snuggle with me when you’re really tired or sick, the rest of the time, you’re on the move!

You’re a fantastic sleeper – naptime and nighttime.

You say, “Mama” “Dada” and “Uh-oh.” “Uh-oh” is your favorite word, and sometimes I wish I hadn’t taught you how to say it : )

You love to go on walks.

You rub your head and play with your hair when you’re bored or tired.

You’re such a sweetie-pie, and I love you SO MUCH!

Happy First Birthday, baby boy!

Leave a Reply

