Ramblings of a Redhead

Motherhood, Ministry, Marriage, and Messes along the way

Seven Years: A Love Story

on October 10, 2012

I fell in love with Jared Alan Thomas when I was seventeen years old. I’d had my eye on him for awhile, but he seemed to barely know I existed. He was busy with baseball, AP Studies, extracurricular activities, and oh yeah, a girlfriend. For a long while I pushed the possibility of him from my mind. I dated other boys, hung out with my friends, worked a part time job, and did well in school.

We had some close mutual friends that put us in the same location a few times toward the end of our Junior and beginning of our Senior years of high school. Secretly, I was nervous at all of these events, because gosh darn it he was just so cute.

He says I came to him at a time he least expected it. We took an English class together, and ended up sitting together many days. It was in this class that he finally took notice of little ole me. He had experienced a bad break up, and had set his mind to stay as far away from girls as possible. But, in the midst of this our friendship started to blossom. Eventually, (with a little nudging from one persistent friend) he asked me out on a date.

I vividly recall almost every detail of that night. He picked me up, wearing a cream sweater, blue jeans, and brown shoes. We went out to eat at a great restaurant in our home town that is sadly, now closed. I barely touched my salad; he ate his meal and the rest of mine. We talked for hours, until we were the only ones left in the restaurant and they were cleaning up for the night – like vacuuming the floor as a subtle hint for us to leave already!

He asked me probing questions about my interests, my family, my faith and I sheepishly answered each one. At the end of the night he walked me to the door, and asked if he could hug me goodnight. And thus began our dating relationship. He waited a month before holding my hand, and three months to kiss me – and he told me he loved me before that. He showed me what a God-honoring relationship looked like, and cherished me in a way that I really needed.

Before we began dating, we had chosen the same college so we continued dating through college years and became engaged. We endured long distance during Jared’s first semester of seminary and got married after I graduated with my B.A.

We’ve had our issues through it all, and still do. We are wired so very differently. I’m free-spirited, emotional, creative, and impulsive. He is analytic, logical, organized, and not afraid to speak his mind. At times we struggle to communicate, and to get along, but I wouldn’t trade our ups and downs for anything.

I laugh because I have all these old journals from high school and early college where I wrote endless entries on how marvelous Jared is, before I got to know any of his flaws. I made lists of reasons I love him, or things that he did that made me smile. I still believe that he is marvelous, but I’ve also gotten to know him in a deep and true way that can only happen when you get to the most undesirable traits of a person…oh, and he’s seen that side of me too. But, in honor of those old journals, and just because here is a list of (some) of the things that I love about my husband.

1. He cracks me up! He knows little things that are so funny to me, and we have spent many an evening rolling with laughter.

2. He’s so so so smart, and humble about it. He won’t volunteer this information, but he graduated third in our class in high school (without really trying), finished college in three years, has a Master’s Degree, and is working on his Ph.D. Yep, he’s the future Dr. Thomas.

3. He’s a great Daddy. He makes T giggle like crazy, and isn’t afraid to change a diaper or two.

4. He’s supportive, and a provider.

5. He’s an all around good guy.

6. He’s a pretty good cook.

7. He’s handsome – I love that dark hair and blue eyes.

8. He loves Jesus, and cares for people.

9. He makes the funniest face ever when he’s laughing really hard – his eyebrows get really pointy.

10. He puts up with me!

We’ve been together almost seven years, and it’s still an adventure! I’m excited to see what’s in store for us, and so glad I have him by my side.

I love you, J.

Leave a Reply

